Master Lock 1500iD Speed Dial Combination Lock, Assorted Colors

Speed Dial Combination Lock, Assorted Colors (selected at random), Red, Blue, Black With Chrome & Black With Green Accents, Opens Fast On Up/Down/Left/Right Directional Movements, Faster, Easier, More Secure Than Standard Combination Lock, Can Be Opened 1 Handed Without Looking For Ease Of Use, Can Be Reset To Any Number Of Movements In Any Sequence, Maximum Security With Anti-Shim Feature, Assorted Colors, Red, Blue, Black With Chrome & Black With Green Accents, Matching Pass Code Indicators, Letters, Numbers, Colors, Shapes, Symbols Are Included For Added Customization, Simply Apply Over The Arrows.

Feature Products

  • 2″ (51mm) wide metal body can be opened one-handed without looking, for ease of use
  • Combination can be reset to any number of movements in any sequence
  • Matching pass code indicators, letters, numbers, colors, shapes, symbols are included for added customization, simply apply over arrows
  • World’s first combination lock that opens on up/down/left/right directional movements
  • Hardened steel shackle for increased bolt cutter protection

Products Reviews

[wpramareviews asin=”B002TSN4SQ”]

List Price: $ 12.69

Price: $ 5.50

3 comments on “Master Lock 1500iD Speed Dial Combination Lock, Assorted Colors

  1. 37 of 38 people found the following review helpful:

    Love the lock, no problems with mine., July 30, 2010

    By Ron G (New York, NY) –

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

    This review is from: Master Lock 1500iD Speed Dial Combination Lock, Assorted Colors (Tools & Home Improvement)

    I was concerned about all the poor reviews complaining about not being able to open the lock and messing up when you set the combination causing a lock that can’t be opened. What I find is you need to understand this lock to use it well. Pressing on the shank resets the combination unlike normal master locks which are reset by turning several times. So if you hold the lock wrong while entering the combination you will be reseting it as you enter the combo and clearly it will not open. Secondly, you need to be deliberate when entering the combination especially when setting a new combination. A little care will prevent you from miss entering the combo. If you realize you might have messed up while setting your own combination, reset it before relocking it and do it more carefully. You want to hold the button firmly and move the button in the direction and back to center. Don’t just let it spring back to the center because sometimes it will spring back so hard it goes the other way registering another move. If you hold the button firmly as you enter the combo you will find you get much better accuracy. I can open my lock 100% of the time if I do this. When I first got the lock I thought everyone was right, I could only open it once in several tries. I was using my thumb to move the lock in the direction and letting it spring back. Now that I grab onto the button and move it in the direction and back I have no issues. I like to hold the lock in my left hand making sure I don’t reset it by pressing up on the shank. Then I used a firm grip on the button with my right hand to open the lock. One thing I like about this lock is you don’t have to look at it while entering the combo. So it’s easy to look around an make sure nobody is watching you enter the combo. You can also shield the lock with your hand as you enter since you don’t need to see the lock yourself. The fact that this lock can’t be shimmed open is also very nice. The only reason I don’t give this lock 5 stars is I would prefer to see a more solid construction. I have read that the gears inside are plastic and the lock seems like it might be weak so perhaps easily snapped. I would be willing to pay double for a more rugged version of this lock. Another reason is I would prefer if they used individual buttons rather then a single button. 4 simple buttons for left, right, up and down would be very nice. This would prevent the issues with the toggle button springing back making it much more accurate to enter the combination.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? 


    |  Comment (1)

  2. 25 of 25 people found the following review helpful:

    Very Innovative Idea but not perfect, August 13, 2010

    By J. Marius (Laurel, MD USA) –
      

    This review is from: Master Lock 1500iD Speed Dial Combination Lock, Assorted Colors (Tools & Home Improvement)

    The Speed Dial is a very unique and looks amazing. Unfortunately, as others have complained, the lock works when it wants to work. I think I know why. When entering just 4 combination codes that do not repeat, the lock works like a charm. For Example if the code was up,down,left,right then the code works. But I did not want a short combination. When I first saw this product the code that automatically came to mind was the first 8 combinations of the famous Konami video game code which is up,up,down,down,left,right,left,right.(Look up Konami Code if you want to see websites where the code works) The code worked like a charm the first time but I wanted to make sure so I clamped down twice and inputted the code again. The combo didnt work. It took me 4 tries until I got it to open. It did this repeated for 5 mins. Just in case I reset the code back to the original code that came with it, unlocked it, then I relocked it and finally I inputted my custom code. I did this resetting several times. Finally I decided to shorten the code to just Up,UP,Down,Down,Right. Again I met with the same problems but I noticed that whenever I did repeated motions in the same direction it would sometimes not finish correctly.So I changed to the code to the simple Up,Down,Left,Right,Up,down,left,right combination. 5 times out of 10 the lock worked.(That was an improvement by the way). I then changed the left to up,down,left,right. Once I did that I noticed that 9 times out of ten the code worked. I didnt want to have that short of a code because someone would eventually get it if they just played around so I finally changed it to up,down,right,right,left. My code still does the double motion so sometimes it gets stuck but its complex enough that I can use it at the gym. So bascially remember two things: Keep the code short and try to avoid too many double motion combinations Ex. Right Right Left Left

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? 


    |  Comments (3)

  3. 9 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

    Help for the speedlock that won’t open after setting the new combo!, June 18, 2010

    By Lurchie (Boston, MA) –

    This review is from: Master Lock 1500iD Speed Dial Combination Lock, Assorted Colors (Tools & Home Improvement)

    I had the problem that several reviewers had – after setting the new combo, the lock failed to open. I did some research and discovered that if you miss a step in the combo reset, all you end up doing is adding the default combo and your newly created combo in one long string. Try running through the entire series and see if it works for you, I was able to open the lock and avoid returning a second lock.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? 


    |  Comments (4)

Leave a comment